Beauty at the Boathouses (1994)

I did a session down at the Oxford boathouses on the Thames in late summer 1994. The weather was glorious, a blue sky with fluffy clouds. Which made for a fantastic backdrop to outdoor fashion shoots. The model was a French student called Julie. She had the most amazing complexion and the most beautiful eyes as well as a sense of power and self-assurance.

I had seen her in a bar a few days earlier and was nervous about asking her to model but I was persuaded by my French friend Nathalie who actually did the persuading for me! She was only in Oxford for a couple of weeks so I had to sort a location quickly. In retrospect I might have been better prepared in terms of my lens selection but it was a structured attempt to create images that could be reproduced in fashion magazines although I clearly still have a preference for landscape orientation which is not particularly practical. Here is selection of some of the work from that session.

Leave a Reply

