Unicorn Girl in Wellington

I’m not as bold as I used to be and rarely stop people in the street these days to ask if I can photograph them. But a couple of months ago I did just that. She was standing waiting for a bus on Lambton Quay and I just couldn’t stop myself. She just had the most incredible face, strong almost masculine features and yet she strike me as having the softest face and a demure posture. We met up a couple of days later and took photographs. I never got her full contact details and I imagine she has gone back to Germany already, but I hope she won’t mind me sharing these few images from our brief session.

These were shot in a makeshift studio with light theatre lights for flood lighting. I was attempting to achieve something of the light effect that Jock Sturges managed and I do rather like the results.

Leave a Reply

