Gamine on iPad

My latest curiosity is the process of viewing images as a photographer. I remember the huge viewfinders some 30 years ago and don’t really enjoy the small view one works with today on so many digital SLRs. So I decided I want to take digital imagery to its not logical conculsion (for me) and to see what I could create using just an iPad. Mine is a fairly ‘old’ iPad 2 so not a fantastic resolution but the intention wasn’t to produce publishable images. Rather it was to see how much fun it was to frame with such a large ‘frame’ to play with.

Hannah No1 (2015)
Hannah No1 (2015)
Hannah No2 (2015)
Hannah No2 (2015)

As has been my habit for years I looked for a living space rather than a studio and on this occasion that meant a Travelodge (Euston) and I used only the availability light. Shooting in the evening the only light was artificial but the room had 9 artificial light sources so lots to work with. Decor is always a bit limiting but I loved the 1970s scooped chair and the strip lighting along the headboard looked interesting. Likewise I was intrigued by the double mirrors in the corner, allowing multiple people to be captured in the frame.

Hannah No3 (2015)
Hannah No3 (2015)

Hannah No4 (2015)
Hannah No4 (2015)

The model was a charming and intelligent gamine called Hannah (ModelMayhem Profile) who was a lot of fun and willing to contribute her ideas. She was accompanied by her boyfriend Mike who was equally easy to work with and joined in as a ‘human prop’. Together they made it one of the most enjoyable sessions I’ve ever had. Hannah had only brought four changes of clothing and no underwear options but we managed a great variation over the three hour shoot. I gather her favourite is the one lying on newsprint, provisionally entitled ‘Fleet Street’? I can’t pick a favourite.

Fleet Street (2015)
Fleet Street (2015)

The advantage of shooting on the iPad was the immediate review so we sat down and looked at everything. I was a little disappointed initially at just how the poor light (technically not aesthetically) meant the lack of resolution made itself apparent. But having spent a few days doing post-production using Camera+, a free app, I was seriously impressed with the outcome.

Leave a Reply

